Mayor and City Council

The City is governed by a Council-Manager form of government where the Council sets city policy and the City Manager is responsible for city operations.The city council consists of a mayor and eight council members. All council members are elected for three year terms. Elected officials are under a mixed system of single-member districts and at-large seats.

Approved Redistricting

Data from the 2010 census indicates a population shift in Irving that required a redrawing of voting district boundaries. Read more

View Document Notice of Submission of Redistricting Plan to the Department of Justice | Español
View Document View Approved Redistricting Map
View Document View Approved Redistricting Map Demographics

At-large Districts

Seats:  Mayor, Place 2, Place 8

At-large candidates are elected to represent the whole city; all voters can vote for candidates running for an at-large seat. At-large candidates may reside in any area of the city.

Single-Member Districts

Seats:  Place 1, Place 3, Place 4, Place 5, Place 6, Place 7

A single-member district is a geographically defined voting district represented by a single elected official. Only registered voters that live within the specified district's bundaries can vote for candidates who run for seat in the district. Candidate must live in the the single-member district in which they run.

Contacting the Mayor and City Council

•  Email City Council members: 
•  Email the Mayor:

Correspondence may be sent to:
Irving City Hall
City Council's Office
825 W. Irving Blvd.
Irving, TX 75060
Office: (972) 721-2410
Fax: (972) 721-2384