Irving Public Library

Posted on: February 12, 2018

American Library Association's 2018 Award Winning Books


It's award season, and along with movies and music, the best in children and teen books are recognized by the American Library Association at the Midwinter Meeting, taking place Feb. 12 in Denver, Colorado. This year's list of winners include:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature for 2018 goes to Hello, Universe written by Erin Entrada Kelly, published by Greenwillow Books.

Three Newbery Honor Books also were named:
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut written by Derrick Barnes, illustrated by Gordon C. James and published by Bolden, an Agate Imprint.

Long Way Down written by Jason Reynolds and published by Atheneum.  

Piecing Me Together written by Renée Watson and published by Bloomsbury Children's Books.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children in 2018 goes to Wolf in the Snow illustrated and written by Matthew Cordell, published by Feiwel and Friends.

Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named:

Big Cat, little cat illustrated and written by Elisha Cooper and published by Roaring Brook Press.

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut illustrated by Gordon C. James, written by Derrick Barnes, and published by Bolden, an Agate Imprint.

A Different Pond illustrated by Thi Bui, written by Bao Phi and published by Capstone Young Readers, a Capstone imprint.

Grand Canyon illustrated and written by Jason Chin, a Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards recognizing African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults.

Piecing Me Together is the King Author winner, written by Renée Watson, published by Bloomsbury Children's Books.

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets illustrated by Ekua Holmes, is the King Illustrator Award winner. The book is written by Kwame Alexander with Chris Colderly and Marjory Wentworth and published by Candlewick Press.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adultsj in 2018 goes to We Are Okay written by Nina LaCour, published by Dutton Books for Young Readers.

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens in 2018 goes to The Hate U Give written by Angie Thomas, published by Balzer + Bray.

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults for 2018 goes to Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers written by Deborah Heiligman, published by Godwin Books/Henry Holt.

For a complete list of all ALA award winner and honor titles, please visit this press release.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Irving Public Library


Hope Nation Book Launch Party

Posted on: February 15, 2018

And the Winner Is...

Posted on: February 22, 2018
Newsflash_Girls Who Code

Girls Who Code

Posted on: February 23, 2018
Lonely Heart

Unbreak Your Heart - Library Edition

Posted on: February 15, 2018